Tofu and Vegetable Stir Fry

Tofu and Vegetable Stirfry
Tofu and Vegetable Stirfry

Tonight’s dinner was a quick and easy tofu and vegetable stir fry.

When my partner Rodney goes away on business, I take the opportunity to go vegetarian and eat all the ingredients he doesn’t like.

Start by boiling some water, place noodles in a large ceramic bowl, cover with hot water and a plate, leaving to steam until you need them.

I then like to prepare all my ingreidnets before I start cooking as you don’t want to overcook your stir fry or your veges will not be crunchy.

Slice an onion, cut ginger into match sticks and garlic into slithers – stir fry on the hottest setting with a splash of vegetable oil until soft.

Add Shiitaki mushrooms, chunks of asparagus and the ends of chinese broccoli (Gai Lan) – stir fry for a another couple of minutes.

Cut up your tofu into squares – I used a firm tofu with seaweed that I find retains its shape nicely when cooking – and add to the pan with some soy sauce, oyster sauce and a splash of sesame oil for flavour.

Then add your remaining ingredients of Gai Lan leaves, drained noodles and Enoki mushrooms for the last few minutes, to combine the flavours and whilt the leaves.

And you’re done. Serve and eat immediately. Enjoy!

Leave a comment